CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR CHA PRIZES AND AWARDS

The CHA announces its annual Macdonald, Ferguson and Neatby prizes, as well as its Regional History Certificates of Merit which will be awarded at the Annual Meeting in Victoria, British Columbia to be held May 26-29, 1990.

The Sir John A. Macdonald Prize, which consists of a \$2,000 cash award, is for the non-fiction work of Canadian history "judged to have made the most significant contribution to an understanding of the Canadian past". Those wishing to submit works with a 1989 imprint should forward one copy of each entry to each judge by January 31, 1990.

- M. Gérard Bouchard, Département d'histoire, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Chicoutimi, PQ G7H 2B1
- Professor Jennifer Brown, Department of History, University of Winnipeg, 515 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, MB R3B 2E9
- Professor Reginald Whitaker, Department of Political Science, York University, North York, ON M3J IP3
- M. André Lachance, Département d'histoire, Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, PQ J1K 2R1
- Professor Neil Mckinnon, Department of History, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, NS B2G 1C0

The Wallace K. Ferguson Prize, also worth \$2,000, will be awarded to a Canadian citizen or Canadian immigrant who has published an outstanding scholarly book in a field of history OTHER THAN CANADIAN HISTORY during the past year. Those wishing to submit works with a 1989 imprint should,

as soon as possible, send two copies to the chairman, and one copy each to the other two judges before January 31, 1990.

- Mme. Christine Piette, Département d'histoire, Université Laval, Québec, PQ G1K 7P4 (Chair)
- Professor D.F. Davis, Department of History, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON K1N 6N5
- Professor Daniel Woolf, Department of History, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS B3H 3J5

The Hilda Neatby Prize in Women's History, is awarded for an academic article published in Canada during 1989 and deemed to make an original and scholarly contribution to the field of women's history. Send nominations, and 8 copies of the nominated article, before March 1,1990 to Joy Parr, History Department, Queen's University, Kingston, ON K7L 3N6.

The Certificates of Merit for regional history are given annually for meritorious publications, or for exceptional contributions by individuals or organizations to regional history. Nominations and supporting documentation for candidates who have made contributions to regional history should be submitted before January 31, 1990 to the appropriate regional representatives. Those representatives are:

- Atlantic Canada: Professor D. MacGillivray, Department of History, University College of Cape Breton, Box 5300, Sydney, NS B1P 6L2.
- Quebec: Professeur Paul Larocque, Département d'histoire, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Rimouski, PQ G5L 3Al.

- Ontario: Professor Kenneth Pryke, Department of History, University of Windsor, Windsor, ON N9B 3P4. (Chair)
- The Prairies and Northwest Territories: Professor Jean Friesen, Department of History, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2.
- British Columbia and The Yukon: Professor Robert A.J. McDonald, Department of History, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC V6T 1W5.

The CHA will also be awarding the Albert B. Corey Prize in Canadian-American Relations, jointly sponsored by the American Historical Association and the Canadian Historical Association, in December 1990 at the Annual Meeting of the American Historical Association. The prize is for the best book dealing with the history of Canadian-American relations or the history of both countries and carries a cash award of \$2,000. Books bearing an imprint of 1988 or 1989 are eligible for the 1990 prize. One copy of each entry should be sent to:

- Professor William Acheson, Department of History, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB E3B 6E5
- Professor William Baker, Department of History, University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, AB T1K 3M4

Also, two copies should be sent to:

 American Historical Association, 400 A Street S.E., Washington, DC 20003, U.S.A.

The deadline for submission of entries is **June 15, 1990**.

BACK TO SCHOOL MEMBERSHIPS ENCOURAGED

Although most CHA memberships run from January to December, a resolution adopted at the October meeting of the CHA Executive will allow student memberships to start in September.

Until now, anyone joining the CHA in September would find a renewal notice in their mailbox two months later. All memberships expired December 31 (although anyone joining at anytime during the year did receive all the society's publications for that year).

The new policy will extend student memberships taken out between September and December 31 to include the following calendar year as well. Subscriptions to journals will, however, continue to be January to December; therefore anyone joining in September will be registered with the journals for the following January.